Thursday, February 17, 2011

Foods that Probably contain Gluten

Questionable ingredients should not be consumed unless you can verify they do not have gluten of any kind from the prohibited grains.

Bran
Brown rice syrup (unless stated GF) (frequently made from barley)
Caramel color (infrequently made from barley)
Dextrin (usually corn but may be derived from wheat)
Dry roasted nuts ( processing agents may contain wheat)
Flour or cereal products
Hydrolyed vegetable protein (HVP)
Vegetable protein, hydrolyzed plant protein (HPP)
Hydrolyzed soy protein or textured vegetable protein (TVP) (read label; it will say "wheat")
Malt or malt flavoring (usually from barley)
Malt vinegar
Modified food starch of modified starch (read label; it will say "wheat")
Starch (source should be labeled)
Soy sauce or soy sauce solids (wheat free soy sauce -GF Tamari is available but must state Gluten Free)
Ricola cough drops
Emergen-C in raspberry and mixed berry flavors only; the others are ok.

No comments:

Post a Comment